Marty J. Chabert Chair

Collis B. Temple III
Vice Chair

Blake R. David Secretary

Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



Claudia H. Adley

Randy L. Ewing Robert W. Levy

Sonia A. Pérez

Felix R. Weill

Wilbert D. Pryor T. Jay Seale III Gary N. Solomon, Jr.

Phillip R. May, Jr.

Charles R. McDonald Darren G. Mire

Gerald J. Theunissen

William S. Jewell, Student

BOARD OF REGENTS

P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.regents.la.gov

February 6, 2020

MEMORANDUM

To: Directors, Offices of Research & Sponsored Programs, Affected Campuses

From: Carrie Robison, Deputy Commissioner for Sponsored Programs

RE: Out-of-State Consultant Report and Funding Recommendations for Proposals Submitted under

the Board of Regents Support Fund's BoR/SREB Doctoral Support Initiative, FY 2019-20

The consultant's final report, including funding recommendations for the five (5) proposals submitted to the Board of Regents/SREB Doctoral Support Initiative to Promote Student and Faculty Diversity, is now posted on the website of the Board of Regents Sponsored Programs Section, https://web.laregents.org. Early publication of the report will allow campuses to use prospective slots to assist in recruiting doctoral candidates for fall 2020.

Please note that the Board is expected to act on these recommendations along with those for other BoRSF programs at its April 22, 2020 meeting. Institutions may notify the Board of acceptance of the award in April, as part of the response to all funding recommendations. As soon as possible following Board action at the April meeting, contracts for approved projects will be transmitted through each campus's institutional LOGAN account. As indicated in program requests for proposals, BoR/SREB contracts funded in this cycle will have an effective date of August 1, 2020.

If you have any questions about this memorandum or the report, please feel free to contact me via email (<u>carrie.robison@laregents.edu</u>) or phone (225-219-7169).

cc: System and Campus Heads, Affected Campuses